The Torbay Chess Congress
An annual congress held on the English Riviera
The Torbay Congress
Torbay Chess Congress
Torbay Chess Congress

53rd Torbay Chess Congress Report

8th - 10th November 2019 at the Livermead House Hotel, Torquay


Open 26; Major 35; Intermediate 32; Foundation 44.

This makes a total of 137: 10 up on last year, and the largest total since 2014.

Prize Winners


1stGerald Moore (197)Broadland4Winning £240
Joint 2ndKeith Arkell (242)Cheddleton 4NCLAll winning £37.50
Will Claridge-Hansen (227)Exeter University
Jonathan Underwood (188)Seaton
Tim Paulden (184)Exeter
John Edge (181)Halesowen
Richard Webster (178)Worksop
Grading Prize (186 - 181 inc)Alan Brusey (181)Newton Abbot3Winning £30
Grading Prize (180 - 173 inc)Paul Hutchinson (180)Scarborough3Each winning £15
OliverStubbs (177)Downend & Fishponds
Grading Prize (Under 173)Paul Aston (158)2Winning £30
Slow Starter Prize (0/2)Duncan Williams (164)Morriston, SwanseaEach winning £15
Martin Clancy (163)Ringwood


1stDavid Archer (166)South HamsWinning £240
Joint 2ndMax Walker (159)Clevedon4All winning £75
Giles Body (158)Exeter
Meyrick Shaw (154) TelloExmouth
Grading Prize (159 – 157 inc)Andrew Waters (159)Rainham, KentWinning £30
Grading Prize (156 - 151 inc)Aditya Yanamandra (156)Exeter University3Each winning £15
Brendan O'Gorman (154)DHSS
Grading Prize (150 - 144 inc)Frank Pittman (144)WeymouthWinning £30
Grading Prize (Under 144)Jonathan Ayres (139)Scarborough3Winning £30
Slow Starter Prize (0/2)Paul Jackson (160)Coulsdon2Each winning £15
George Lekoudis (144)


1stDanilo Gouveia Wasques (U)1Newton AbbotWinning £85
2ndPhil Foley(139)Upminster4Winning £240
Joint 3rdAmanda Jones (133)SalisburyAll winning £35
Lynne Fursman (129)
Jacquie Barber-Lafon (125)Newton Abbot
Ian Abraham (U)Barry, Wales
Grading Prize (132 - 130 inc)Stephen Chadaway (132)OltonAll winning £10
Rob Wilby (132)Plymouth
Paul Foster (130)Medway
Grading Prize (129 - 126 inc)Paul O'Brien (128)Worthing3All winning £10
Peter Dimond (126)Bath
Eddie Fierek (126)Gloucester
Grading Prize (125 - 121 inc)Peter Land (125)2Each winning £15
Charles Doidge (125)Teignmouth
Grading Prize (Under 121)Clifford Peach (104)South Hams / Plymouth3Winning £30
Slow Starter Prize (0/2)Richard Brenton (129)Newron Abbot½Winning £30
Note 1: Under the Congress Rules, ungraded players can only win third prize in the graded sections. Therefore the player placed 2nd received the full 1st prize, and the players placed joint 3rd received a share of the 2nd prize.


Joint 1stMichael Pope (112)SalisburyBoth winning £190
Ian Farrow (104)Dons
3rdJoy Fursman (106)4Winning £85
Grading Prize (111 – 104 inc)David Lovegrove (110)TelfordAll winning £7.50
John Jeremiah (109)Wellington
Maurice Richards (105)Liskeard
Roy Greenhalgh (104)South Hams
Grading Prize (103 - 97 inc)Edward (Ted) Paul (102)DorchesterWinning £30
Grading Prize (96 – 87 inc)Alan Fraser (94)Beckenham & Bromley3Winning £30
Grading Prize (86 - 69 inc)James Glasson (84)Teignmouth3Winning £30
Grading Prize (Under 69)Suhayl Abdalla (61)Newton Abbot3Winning £30
Slow Starter Prize (0/2)David Healey (76)Watford2Winning £30

Torbay Individual Championships (incorporated in the Congress)

Open: Basil Wallis CupAlan BruseyNewton Abbot
Major: Challenge CupDavid ArcherSouth Hams
Intermediate: Intermediate CupDanilo Gouveia WasquesNewton Abbot
Foundation: Candidates CupRoy GreenhalghSouth Hams

Best Score by a Devon Player in the Graded Sections

Ralph Newman CupDavid ArcherSouth Hams
Danilo Gouveia WasquesNewton Abbot

Best Score by a Devon Junior

John Whitfield CupSuhayl AbdallaNewton Abbot
James GlassonTeignmouth

Team Event

Teams of four players entered the competition. This year there were ten entries. New team on block, Wells, set a cracking pace and managed to keep and edge on the South Ham team (South Hammers) and in the end won the competition by half a point.

The winning Wells team consisted of
Keith Arkell
Max Walker
Chris Strong
Paul Humphries

The 53rd Congress

The Congress was opened by Christian Robertson, Partner of Kitsons, who are our very faithful long term sponsors. Christian recalled Mark Batten who worked as the Chief Cashier at Kitsons before his untimely demise - a keen chess player and participant at the Torbay Congress. We continue to be enormously grateful to Kitsons for their sponsorship.

The Torbay Chess Congress would not take place without the help and support of many people. We again had the expert support of Phil McConnell. He is an enormously resourceful chap who copes with whatever problems come his way without breaking into a sweat or looking the slightest bit stressed. We also had the expert arbiter team of Tony Tatam, John Arris and John Constable. They sorted out the pairings and controlled the Congress very efficiently indeed. We are indebted to all these people for their skill and expertise.

We are grateful to the Devon County Chess Association for the loan of their digital clocks. The Plymouth club also loaned us their clocks and as did individual members of the South Hams Club. Bob Jones provided the bookstall. We are very grateful to all of these.

Finally, Mr Tim Rew and his team at the Livermead House Hotel who went the extra mile to make the Congress a success.

Well done everyone!

Ken Alexander
Congress Organiser
November 2019



A Game from Round 4 of the 2016 Open
[Event "Torbay Open"] [Site "Torquay"] [Date "2016.11.13"] [Round "4"] [White "Archer Lock, Christopher J"] [Black "Bolt, Graham"] [Result "1/2-1/2"] [ECO "A00"] [PlyCount "160"] [EventDate "2016.11.12"] [EventType "swiss"] [EventRounds "5"] [EventCountry "ENG"] [SourceDate "2016.11.12"] 1. d4 g6 2. c4 Bg7 3. Nc3 d6 4. Nf3 Nf6 5. Bf4 Bg4 6. e3 Nh5 7. Bg5 h6 8. Bh4 O-O 9. Be2 c6 10. h3 Bxf3 11. Bxf3 Nf6 12. O-O Nbd7 13. Qc2 Rc8 14. b4 d5 15. c5 e5 16. Rab1 b5 17. a4 a6 18. axb5 axb5 19. Ra1 Ra8 20. Ra2 Rxa2 21. Qxa2 Qc8 22. Ra1 Nh7 23. Qd2 Qb7 24. Bg3 Ra8 25. Rxa8+ Qxa8 26. dxe5 Qa1+ 27. Bd1 Nxe5 28. Bxe5 Bxe5 29. Ne2 Ng5 30. f3 Ne6 31. Qc1 Qa7 32. Bb3 Bg7 33. Kf2 Qe7 34. Qa3 Kh7 35. Ba2 Qf6 36. Bb1 Qh4+ 37. Kf1 h5 38. f4 Qf6 39. Ng3 Qc3 40. Qxc3 Bxc3 41. Nxh5 Kh6 42. f5 Kxh5 43. fxe6 fxe6 44. e4 Bxb4 45. exd5 exd5 46. Bd3 Bxc5 47. Be2+ Kg5 48. Bg4 b4 49. Ke2 Be7 50. Bd7 c5 51. Be6 d4 52. Kd3 Kf4 53. Bd5 Kg3 54. Kc4 g5 55. Kd3 Kf2 56. Kd2 Bd6 57. Kd3 Kf1 58. Be4 b3 59. Kc4 Ke2 60. Kxb3 d3 61. Bf3+ Ke1 62. Kc3 c4 63. Kxc4 d2 64. Kd5 Bg3 65. Ke4 d1=Q 66. Bxd1 Kxd1 67. Kf5 Bf4 68. h4 Bc1 69. h5 Ke2 70. h6 g4 71. h7 Bb2 72. Kxg4 Ke3 73. Kf5 Bh8 74. g4 Kd4 75. Ke6 Ke4 76. g5 Kf4 77. g6 Kg5 78. Kf7 Kh6 79. Kg8 Kxg6 80. Kxh8 Kf7 1/2-1/2